2021 Competition Results

Congratulations to all of KSP's annual competition winners, and thank you to all those who entered. Big thanks to the Shire of Mundaring, Tabetha Rogers-Beggs of Little Black Dress Productions, and Flora Smith for sponsoring these awards.


(WA Competition)

Theme: Voices

Judge: Carolyn Wren

Carolyn is a Perth hills author of Romance and Suspense novels, who spent most of her working life in the mining industry.  When a story popped into her brain, she began writing in 2009 and entered a few contests, just for fun.  Much to her surprise, she won the Australian based Emerald Award for unpublished manuscripts, and one week later received a commendation from the International Daphne Du Maurier Awards for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. This gave her the incentive to keep writing, and to pursue a publishing deal.   As at July 2021 Carolyn has 21 books, 7 first place trophies and 17 finalist certificates from contests all around the world.  Her primary Australian publisher is Gumnut Press with anthology stories through Serenity Press.





Winner: Fiona Mayers, 'Just a Voice'
2nd Place: Caroline Michell, 'Voices Ethereal'

3rd Place: Sarah Ayres, 'Whispers'
Commended: Kaitlin Pradhan, 'Listen'

Commended: Jo Morrison, 'Stay'


(in no particular order)


 1.    White Noise by B. Kay Spencer. 

2.    Guardian by Valerie Latimour. 

3.    My Mind by Hillary Goodreid. 

4.    Alebrije by David Allan-Petale. 

5.    Magic Hands by Jasmin Pradhan. 

7.    For Whom the Shell Whispers by Lee Harsen. 

8.    Never Leave by Dan Depiazzi. 

9.    Giggles by Emilia Beecraft.

10.    The Green Cave by Amber Davis. 

11.    The Hum by Farzaneh Pishro. 

12.    A Little Help by Chris Moss. 

13.    A Warning to You All by Louise Burlinson.

14.    The Unseen, the Unheard by Tenneille Ross.

17.    The Matter of the Diet of Insectivorous Plants from Equatorial Africa by Maria Blackman. 

18.    Jimmy by Chris Zanich. 

19.    Shadows of Voices by Brian Walsh.

20.    The Midnight Party by Briana Kay Bohan. 

21.    Silence by KJ Beat. 

22.    A Perfect Life by Jacqueline Warner.

23.    Baptism of Fire by Jenny Lynch. 

24.    Appetite by Shelley Timms. 

27.    Stone Age Chick by K. Dee. 


Winner: Jun Chu, 'Illusion'
2nd Place: Ben Lesley, 'Mary Kings Close'

3rd Place: Saufi Risal, 'Isabelle'
Commended: Ellen Bourgault, 'Shadelands'


(in no particular order)

1. Mimic by Karthiga Kamala Kannan. 
2. I'm Here, Darling by Farina Ibrahim. 
3. Pontianak by Nur Fatihah Mohd Fauzi.

7. The Sprung by Coen Lamb. 
8. The Fateful Whisper by Daniel Brooker. 
9. Joker by Francis Yan. 
10. Home Sweet Home by Cassandra Lew.


(National Competition)

Judge: Caitlin Maling

Caitlin Maling is a Western Australian poet who grew up in and around Fremantle. Her work has been published in Australian Poetry, Best Australian Poetry, Westerly, Island, Meanjin, Threepenny Review, Green Mountains Review, Australian Book Review, Prairie Schooner and The Australian among others. A previous recipient of the John Marsden Poetry Prize, in 2014 she was shortlisted for the Judith Wright Poetry Prize and won the Harri Jones Memorial Prize of the Newcastle Poetry Prize, and the Val Vallis Award. Her first collection Conversation's I've Never Had was published by Fremantle Press in early 2015 and was shortlisted for the Dame Mary Gilmore Award and WA Premier's Book Award. Her most recent collection, Fish Work, was released in 2021 after being highly commended in the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Awards with UWA Press. Caitlin is a previous holder of the Marten Bequest in Poetry and a Teaching Fellowship at the University of Sydney.

READ 2021 JUDGES' REPORT (available the week following 5 December 2021)


In alphabetical order by surname


“The Birthing Room” Carolyn Abbs, WA

“Haruspicy” Chris Armstrong, TAS

“A Blackbird by Any Other Name” Paula Jones, WA

“Suburban Summers” Scott-Patrick Mitchell, WA

“peach” Jan Napier, WA

“Regrowth” Jan Napier, WA

“Failures” Damon O’Brien, QLD

Annette Cameron Encouragement Award for an Unpublished WA Poet


In alphabetical order by surname

Lisa Collyer, WA
Shahnoor Nina Gregory, WA
Carolyn Parker, WA


In alphabetical order by surname

“the box” Bella Rose, WA, 15 years, Halls Head College
“I’ve just shaved for the first time” Zara Vale, NSW, 16 years, Melba Copland Secondary School
“lessons” Kyla Rajkumar, NSW, 16 years, Westbourne College
“red” Katie Andrews, WA, 14 years, International School of WA
“bedtime” Josephine Marston, WA, 14 years, Hope Christian College
“A forgotten dream”: Brianna Elvish, VIC, 14 years, St. Peter's College


(National Competition)

Judge: Emily Paull

Emily Paull is a writer of short stories and historical fiction from Perth, Western Australia. Her debut collection, Well-Behaved Women, was released by Margaret River Press in 2019, and she was highly commended in the 2021 Fogarty Award for her manuscript ’The Good Daughter.’ Emily is a former Young Writer in Residence at KSP, and has been published in Westerly multiple times. She is also a qualified librarian. When she’s not writing, she can often be found with her nose in a book. 

READ 2021 JUDGES' REPORT (available the week following 5 December 2021)



In alphabetical order by surname

Domestic by Jen Bowden, WA

People to Avoid by Scott Limbrick, VIC

Colours of Love by Peter Mitchell, NSW

The Road Trip by Scott-Patrick Mitchell, WA

Ouroboros by Josephine Sarvaas, NSW
The Buyer by Christopher Scriven, VIC

Picture Perfect by Jill Southgate, WA
Eat Bitterness by Rita Tognini, WA


In alphabetical order by surname

Eleven Bites by Natalie Barr, VIC, 14 years

My Last Husband by Beyas Basu, QLD, 17 years
Running Alone by Liora Berry, NSW, 10 years
String Never Melts by Nadia Brownrigg, NSW, 12 years

A Seal’s Story by Hazel Mazza, VIC, 11 years

Rebellion Rekindled by Vihaan Pujara, WA, 13 years
I Will Remember by Haelie Roberts, VIC, 15 years
Glass Girl by Syazwani Saifudin, VIC, 14 years