top of page

Announcing our 2022 First Edition cohort!

We are beyond excited to announce the recipients of the KSP 2022-23 First Edition Fellowships & Retreat:


Molly Schmidt – Contemporary Australian literature

Khai Virtue – Historical young adult

Carol Millner – Literary fiction

Diane Hopkins – Narrative nonfiction

Emily Taylor – Young adult/contemporary realism

Jo Stapley – Commercial women’s fiction


Nadine Browne – Contemporary fiction

Mark Keenan – Historical literary fiction

Emma Pignatiello – Contemporary crime/mystery

These talented emerging WA authors are working towards completion of their first full length solo novel. Over the next two years, these writers will access exclusive workshops, seminars and mentoring sessions designed to assist them with finishing and polishing their manuscript, so it is ready to pitch to publishers.

These initiatives as part of the 4 Centres Emerging Writers Program are coordinated by Fremantle Press in partnership with the KSP Writers’ Centre, Fellowship of Writers WA, Peter Cowan Writers’ Centre, and WA Poets Inc, and sponsored by the WA Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

The number and quality of applications KSP received over the duration of the submission period was incredibly high and made the job of our selection panel all the more difficult. Thank you to everyone who entered and shared their words with us. It was our privilege to read your work.


Recent Posts

bottom of page