top of page

KSP Writers-in-Residence

The KSP Writers' Centre is proud to support the development of literary work by hosting a number of annual residencies and fellowships. This is a unique program specifically for writers, currently one of only three in Australia. We currently offer placements in the categories of Established; UpComing; Emerging; Scholarship;  Established; and Fellowships. Our legacy of Writers-in-Residence spans almost 30 years and has produced hundreds of literary awards and publications across several genres as a result. For a full list of our Alumni of writers, please see here.

Despite the loss of long-term annual state government funding in 2015, KSP is committed to continuing the program with the support of the local government authority the Shire of Mundaring and Friends of Katharine.


Meet KSP's 2024 Writers-in-Residence


Jackie Bailey

Emerging Writer-in-Residence

Jackie Bailey is an award-winning author, funeral celebrant and ordained interfaith minister, living and working on Dharawal Country. Her debut autofiction novel, The Eulogy, won the 2023 NSW Premier’s Literary Multicultural Award and was shortlisted for the UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing. Jackie has a PhD in Creative Writing. She is a recognised international expert on cultural diversity in the arts and has spearheaded work on justice, equity and inclusion. When she is not writing Jackie can be found bushwalking, hanging out with her family, or helping families to navigate death and dying.

Arianne James.jpg

Arianne James

Upcoming Writer-in-Residence

Arianne is a writer of fiction and avid reader. Her stories have been published in The Hunter Writers Centre’s Grieve anthology, Swinburne University’s journals Backstory and Other Terrain and Corvid Queen magazine. Arianne holds a Bachelor of Behavioural Science (2017) and First-Class Honours in Creative Writing (2019) from the University of Tasmania. She works for TasWriters as their Project Coordinator. She was shortlisted for the Margaret Scott Young Writers Fellowship at the Tasmanian Literary Awards in 2022. Arianne currently hosts The Book Shelf on Edge Radio (99.3FM), where she interviews people from the Tasmanian literary community and beyond.


Michelle Johnson

Emerging Writer-in-Residence

Michelle Johnston is both an Emergency Physician and author. On good days it is difficult to tell the difference. Her first novel, Dustfall, was published in 2018 by UWA Publishing and was short-listed for the MUD debut literary fiction prize. Her second novel is Tiny Uncertain Miracles, published November 2022 with HarperCollins 4th Estate. Her day (and sometimes night) job plays out in an inner-city trauma hospital, the well-spring of infinite human stories.

Zach Inglis.jpg

Zachary Inglis

Upcoming Writer-in-Residence

Zack Inglis is a creative writer, filmmaker and musician from Perth. Zack mainly writes for screen, in the genre of coming-of-age horror/thrillers, with comedic elements, and compelling characters. In 2019, 'The Light' premiered: an indie feature film that Zack wrote, directed, edited and produced.

Jessica Wilkinson.jpg

Jessica Wilkinson

Established Writer-in-Residence

Jessica Wilkinson has published three poetic biographies, Marionette: A Biography of Miss Marion Davies (Vagabond 2012), Suite for Percy Grainger (Vagabond 2014) and Music Made Visible: A Biography for George Balanchine (Vagabond, 2019). Jessica is the founding editor of Rabbit: a journal for nonfiction poetry and the Rabbit Poets Series of single-author collections by emerging poets. She co-edited the anthologies Contemporary Australian Feminist Poetry (2016) and Memory Book: Portraits of Older Australians in Poetry and Watercolours (2021).  

ZoeDeleuil JessGately.jpg

Zoe Deleuil

Invited Writer-in-Residence

Zoe Deleuil is a writer from Perth, Western Australia. Her novel, The Night Village, was shortlisted for the Hungerford Award and published by Fremantle Press in 2021.

Photograph by Jess Gately

Meet KSP's 2024 Fellows


(in no particular order)

bottom of page